Skip to content

SD-10G Review

July 12, 2009

After flying the 10G in a number of planes, I feel I’m ready to give my opinion on this radio. I’ve flown it in a few sailplanes (RES only, though)  a 50cc Stinger, and a Big Stik 40.

First off, this radio just feels great in your hands. It’s light, and the switches just feel natural, especially the trims. They are placed perfectly.

Programming isn’t too complicated, but it can get confusing at times. The full manual is not out yet (expected mid July), but they have the AERO section and system section done. That gives you enough information to get most planes and heli’s setup, minus some of the more confusing mixing options. (which really aren’t too bad, you can figure them out without the manual)

Once I got my radio setup, I headed out to the field. I sent up  my Electra first with an 8ch FHSS 1 receiver. I had no range issues, and the connection just felt solid.  After that I put my 50cc Stinger up with the 10ch FHSS 3 receiver. Again no problem and I could really feel the lower latency, especially in snap rolls. No problems with the Big Stik on another 8ch receiver either. Now I decided to test it a bit. Launched my Spirit sailplane with an 8ch recevier (antenna extended, and perpendictular to the ground). I got the Spirit to the point where I could barely see it, and still no radio issues.

The battery lasted the whole day, about 3hrs of flying. I did cycle it on my charger when I first got it.

All in all, I’m really happy I purchased this tx. It’s a great deal for 500$, and a totally solid radio. Out of 10 I would give it a 9.5. The one thing I didn’t like was the charger. It always seemed to say the pack was full even after charging for just 10min, from low battery alarm (not a full chage). It’s no biggie as I charge my tx packs off my own charger.

Video  explaining some functions of the radio.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BJ3SULrLtiM

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michael permalink
    February 11, 2010 9:10 pm

    Mike, I started flying R/C gliders about 6 months ago and recently purchased SD-10G trying to replace my JR/Spektrum system.

    As I am fairly new and not really know what all the setting are for, could you please give me an example of how you set up your gliders on SD-10G and why?

    Many thanks! Michael

    • mikeflysgliders permalink*
      February 24, 2010 4:46 pm

      Really depends on what kind of gliders. If you’d like shoot me an email at RC10L4 @ netzero.net, and I’d be glad to help you out.

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

